3G on the Eee PC

So, 3G is easily possible on the Eee. Just need to find a way to connect my smartphone to it for true mobile browsing. “I just nipped down to the 3 shop and picked up a Huawei USB 3G modem. I literally popped it into the Eee and setup a new connection in “Network”. No extra drivers, no complicated configuration. It even found all the “3” setting for me.

This could not have been any easier, and will work with any provider using the Huawei E220 USB modem (Most).” More at STA.

7 Responses to 3G on the Eee PC

  1. Neil says:

    I’ve left my E220 in the office, but, as it has the drivers already onboard, I’m expecting a plug-and-play connection also, which would be fantastic. However, likewise, I’m more interested in connecting my phone for use as a modem 🙂

    Neil

  2. topmate says:

    Oh, this is tempting! My Eee is on the way and I’m already a 3 customer with one of the new Skype Phones. Any chance you could report back on your experience of using this with the Eee, particularly how fast it is in actual normal use and the effect it has on Eee battery life?

  3. Al Iverson says:

    I found it pretty easy to get Sprint EVDO service working on my Eee here in the US.

    I am sure it drains the battery faster but I haven’t measured what kind of difference it makes.

  4. p1ip1i says:

    There would definitely be an increased battery drain, but, hopefully not too bad 🙂

    In any case, better to have a choice between draining your battery a bit faster but having high-speed mobile Internet access, and not have the option but merely a longer battery life…

  5. creathus12 says:

    Huawei E220 3G vodafone in ireland is fully compatible with the Eee pc

  6. rik says:

    have a huawei E220 ,every time i try to connect to optus (australia) get reject due to cts/rts protocol ,am unable to change,any ideas?

  7. khoyes says:

    I can’t get my huawei modem on tmobile to work. I plugged it into the eee pc and it just did not connect. im new to all this. please can someone give me a step by step guide to installing it? thanks

Leave a Reply

