Connecting to HSDPA via Internet Sharing on HTC TyTN running WM6

One of my main challenges when getting the EEE was to get it talking to my HTC TyTN smartphone via a Bluetooth dongle, so that I could have high-speed Internet access on the move. To complicate matters slightly, I have flashed my TyTN with a WM6 ROM, and I wasn’t sure whether this would be a hindrance or not… well, I seem to have struck on the right solution, as it’s certainly working for me at the moment.

I basically followed ericmoritz’ guide on EEEUser.com, but, this didn’t work for me, so I made a slight change. The change was this:

After installing bluez-util, and running bluetooth-applet from a new terminal, I opened the Bluetooth Applet from the tray on the EEE, and set the dongle to visible and connectable mode. Having done this, I used Settings/Bluetooth on the TyTN to add the EEE as a new device, using the passcode “1234” – I found that this created a suitable partnership between the two devices.

I then closed Bluetooth-Applet (Ctrl+C in the terminal which launched it), and uninstalled it (sudo apt-get remove bluez-util)

Then, I followed the guide as written, although, it is worth noting that, before running sudo ifup bnep0, you need to have tapped “Connect” in Internet Sharing on the device, otherwise it will fail.

Hope this helps anyone struggling with the existing guide.

Neil

14 Responses to Connecting to HSDPA via Internet Sharing on HTC TyTN running WM6

  1. […] One of my main challenges when getting the EEE was to get it talking to my HTC TyTN smartphone via a Bluetooth dongle, so that I could have high-speed Internet access on the move. To complicate matters slightly, I have flashed my TyTN … Read More […]

  2. […] Connecting to HSDPA via Internet Sharing on HTC TyTN running WM6After installing bluez-util, and running bluetooth-applet from a new terminal, I opened the Bluetooth Applet from the tray on the EEE, and set the dongle to visible and connectable mode. Having done this, I used Settings/Bluetooth on … […]

  3. […] – Internal Bluetooth hackRead – TyTN […]

  4. […] – Internal Bluetooth hack Read – TyTN […]

  5. […] Connecting to HSDPA via Internet Sharing on HTC TyTN running WM6 One of my main challenges when getting the EEE was to get it talking to my HTC TyTN smartphone via a Bluetooth dongle, […] […]

  6. […] – Internal Bluetooth hackRead – TyTN […]

  7. Frank McPherson says:

    Thanks for posting these instructions, I am using my Tytnn II + Eee right now to post this and it works well. I just wish that the Eee had built in Bluetooth rather than having to carry this dongle around.

Leave a Reply

