“You shalt learn the art of Linux” yet the inherently lazy bugger side of me says “ah..stuff it”

The comment in the title of this article rather sums up what some feel about the Eee and Murray over at Palm-Mac has posted his thoughts on this wonderful device. It does everything I want, but I don’t seem to have the time to use it to maximum potential. The full article is here.

“This cheapo laptop is garnering some interesting praise and useage. Shaun from PDA247 and the guys from jkontherun have been using them of late and seem very impressed. It’s odd though as they’re probably exactly the types that Asus are not trying to entice into the EEEPC experience yet it seems the opposite is happening.

There’s an interesting post at the aforemntioned 247 regarding the underlying operating system, in fact there have been several posted by Shaun over the past week or so, one likened it a little to the abandoned and late-lamented, well by me anyway, Foleo. I’d still be very interested in the Foleo now if the price point was reasonable, I’d pay £300 tops for it. I’d rather have one over the Asus anyday, not because I think it would have been a superior product, far from it, but rather because the Foleo would be used with an existing system, my palm treo, as opposed to starting out trying to learn a whole new one from scratch as is the case with Linux…”

5 Responses to “You shalt learn the art of Linux” yet the inherently lazy bugger side of me says “ah..stuff it”

  1. p1ip1i says:

    Did the Foleo have the same look and feel as a Treo? The Xandros distribution on the EEE has an “easy mode” front end, which means that, if you didn’t want to find out about Linux, you don’t really need too… until you come to want to install something.

    Neil

  2. Rick says:

    The eeePC requires no knowledge of Linux or operating systems at all. It just works, and surprisingly well. I’d be surprised if anybody had any substantial difficulties using it.

    I’ve written a post about the eeePC here:

    http://sourcesmouth.co.uk/blog/Forget-the-Linux-Desktop-it-s-the-Linux-Laptop-that-matters.html

  3. p1ip1i says:

    Rick – that’s absolutely true if you just want to the use the machine as if it were an embedded device – as it is out of the box. However, adding any applications, or doing pretty much anything other than “vanilla” usage will have a learning curve for most people; I’m lucky to have used Linux for a while, so didn’t have a learning curve, but, I think that’s unusual amongst the EEE’s target audience, if not its actual audience. Otherwise, why are the EEE forums full of people asking how to do basic (and more advanced) stuff under Linux?

    If you want to use it out the box, though, I think the EEE is probably one of the most user-friendly machines I’ve ever played with.

    Neil

  4. mrmot says:

    This is a false dilemma, or argument, or whatever.

    If one wants to use eeePC for anything that any Joe public might need, i.e. web browsing, mail, word processing, spreadsheet, chat, VoIP, …, then one actually need not do pretty much anything with it but use it out of the box.

    Whoever wants to do more than that, even with Windows, will need to get accustomed to the OS. The fact that most people (by virtue of the horrible monopoly, IMHO) have already passed that threshold with Windows is no argument at all. Am I the only one who remembers how it was in the days of Windows 3, and even 3.11?

    On that side of extreme, my own mother has been using PCs for the past 15+ years (through DOS, to Windows) without caring to learn anything about them apart from how to start a word processor, save and print her document! She doesn’t even use e-mail, preferring to text (SMS) me!

    The only good thing about the example above (as opposed to “oh, Linux is too hard”) is that I could swap my mother’s Windows PC for a Linux one, and as long as there was an icon that says Word Processor, and she could find File/Save and File/Print she’d be happy! So, she’d actually be perfect eeePC user!

    It is actually people who are interested in learning new things that are complaining as the things they’d like to learn actually take effort. Which is a problem in itself, but not for the eeePC!

  5. p1ip1i says:

    I’m biased in any case- I wanted to learn how to use Linux, so, sure, whilst there was indeed a learning curve, there is with anything, and, I have learned a lot of useful stuff… Whilst I do still use Windows, I certainly would not use Windows for absolutely everything anymore.

    Neil

Leave a Reply

